The Night Before 2013

My last post was in March. So now I’m averaging two posts per year? That is sad. BUT… there has been plenty to fill my year. As I look back at the calendar to see what I’ve been up to, I’m amazed it all fit in to 12 months. Let me count the ways!

January was welcomed in as I settled in to my new loft, which is MUCH closer to my studio.

In February, I participated in a group show ‘Best of Atlanta’ at Besharat Art Gallery.

In March I went to the coast of California and soaked up a ton of inspiration and now have dreams of moving out there.

In April I moved in to my new studio! LOVE.

Went through a six month audit with the IRS. In the end we came out even.

Donated my artwork to Art Papers, Hambidge Art Center, and the Atlanta Epilepsy Foundation. I also found ways to give back to six additional charities. Felt good to be able to help in some way.

My work was in a ‘Pop Up Gallery’ in downtown Atlanta- representing consultant and curator: Kessenich Contemporary.

Had a very successful solo exhibition ‘Radiant Flux’ in Santa Fe, New Mexico at Hunter Kirkland Contemporary. That series was well received and nearly sold out!

Served Jury duty.

A videographer flew in to film me in my studio for an interview. Turns out I’m still not very comfortable on camera yet.

Tried new things like hot air ballooning, ice skating, snow mountain sledding and saw the Atlanta Botanical Garden of Lights twice this year. Beautiful. Fun. Lovely.

Promoted and was extremely happy to sell and sign copies of my ‘Serenata’ book and also donated a couple of books to charity. The book is still making collectors and fans very happy and I am grateful for all the help I had in putting that together.

At the end of July I was offered exclusive representation in Georgia with Alan Avery Art Company. My newest work debuted in a group show ‘Wet Ink’. The opening was on November 2nd and was a beautiful show. I’m now in a group show at the gallery during an exhibition featuring the works of American Master, Jim Dine.

Had a wonderful opening exhibition at Stellers Gallery in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida and spent time with collectors, family and friends.

Traveled to France and spent time in Paris and Provence and London. Amazing inspirations. Another excellent place for an artist residency.

My work was placed in the Jacksonville Baptist Hospital permanent collection.

I accepted representation with Aberson Exhibits in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

My work was published in Atlanta Homes & Lifestyles Magazine and the Collectors Guide.

Artsy Forager blogged about my artwork, which was lovely!

I signed with ART TRIBE in the event my work is chosen for inclusion in any films/television series sets.

Said goodbye to my Aunt Carole who passed from complications from chemotherapy. I celebrated her life the night of my opening on November 2nd and think of her every day. She helped me get my start with art in San Francisco after college. I will never forget her kindness and generosity.

I spent time with my family for holidays, improved my cooking/chef skills, hiked in nature, went out with friends, survived a month long battle with the flu and have finally organized my office. Of course there are a million other things in between all of these, but there is only so much time left this year.

All year I have felt gratitude and blessings. I continue to look forward and work hard. I have new inspirations ready for the studio and a list of new goals for 2013. Time to move on to twenty-thirteen!

I hope dear readers that you have had a year filled with things that have made you feel empowered and whole, loved and hopeful. I wish you all magic, joy, peace and excellent health. Happy New Year!

For regular updates, please ‘like’ my Artist Facebook Page and sign up for my art mailing list through my website. Anddd…Mark your calendars for a few things coming up in 2013:

May 24: Solo Exhibition (Hunter Kirkland Contemporary- Santa Fe, NM)
June 1: Group Exhibition (Taylor Foundation- Paris, France)
July: Group Exhibition (Besharat Gallery- Barbizon, France)
November: Aberson Exhibits- Tulsa – OK
This entry was posted in Journal, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

