Summer Breeze

What’s it called when the night air is so soft and gentle, yet full enough that you feel like you can grasp it in your hands? On the drive home from the studio tonight I rolled all the windows down and hung my hand out the window. I let the summer breeze transport me somewhere else… the sweet scent of Magnolia trees put me on a small island, driving along the coast or a river road. I took a few of my favorite paths home so I could avoid cars and keep it quiet enough to hear the song of the summer crickets in the trees. The wind and slight breeze brought me comfort of a time I can’t quite put my finger on. The past mixed with the present and offering something for the future. Sometimes there are those gentle southern evenings that can bring just the right amount of ease to take us somewhere else. Even if just for a few minutes. I want to paint it. The feeling of the breeze on my skin, the smell of magnolias and the sound of crickets.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

